Saturday, 6 March 2010

Oxford brookes university : Academic Excellence Scholarships 2010-2011

A scholarship is worth £2,000 in the first year and £500 in the second and third years, and is payable for up to three years. This money doesn't have to be paid back as long as you complete your course.

Who is eligible?

If you study at a school or college of further education anywhere in England, Wales, Scotland or Northern Ireland you will be considered for a scholarship. All you need to do is apply for an undergraduate course at Oxford Brookes.

How do I apply?

If you have top grades, gained at a UK state or independent school or sixth form college, in A-levels, Scottish Highers, International or European Baccalaureate, you do not need to apply for a scholarship. We will automatically award the scholarship to you after you have enrolled.
If you have top grades in other qualifications, gained at a UK state or independent school or sixth form college, please contact the Student Finance team with details of your qualifications and grades.

When will my scholarship be paid?

The Academic Management Office process and check entry qualifications during Semester 1. This process is completed in January and we will write to you in January to confirm if you have been awarded an Academic Excellence Scholarship. Payment will be made directly into your bank account on 9th February 2011.

Does the money have to be paid back?

No, this money does not have to be paid back as long as you complete your course and fulfil the conditions.

Further details and conditions

1. The Academic Excellence Scholarship is open to all applicants who enrol from September 2010, who are UK nationals, have been educated in the UK and are eligible for home tuition fees and home student support and who have selected Oxford Brookes University as their preferred university.

2. The scholarship will be awarded at a rate of £2,000 for the first year and £500 for each subsequent year, for each full-time year of a degree or foundation degree programme up to three years, including degree and foundation degree programmes delivered through our partner colleges.

3. Following acceptance to the University, applicants must have achieved the highest level of grade from among the following examinations:

* 3 grade As at A-level;
* 3 Distinctions in the BTEC National Diploma
* 3 grade As at Advanced Scottish Higher;
* 35 points in the International Baccalaureate;
* 75% in the European Baccalaureate;
* 15 points in the French Baccalaureate
* 3 grade As in the CACHE Diploma
* Distinctions in 45 credits at level 3 in the Access to HE Diploma or,
* equivalent grades in other examinations not listed here.

4. Applicants are not required to apply for the scholarship. Eligibility is dependent on the University identifying those who have firmly accepted an offer who then achieve, or who have already achieved, the above criteria. The scholarship is payable following enrolment at Brookes.

5. The scholarship will be available to pupils from UK state or independent schools.

6. The scholarship is available only to students studying for their first degree.

7. The scholarship will be available to students studying for a Nursing Diploma.

8. In circumstances when the number of eligible applicants exceeds the allocated fund, the University reserves the right to introduce a selection process with additional criteria based on excellence and achievement.

Subscribe To Get The Latest Scholarship Information In Your Email Inbox

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner